Home  |  About Hood  |  Campus News  |  Campus News
  |  Dec. 5: Employees honored for years of service
Bookmark and Share

Dec. 5: Employees honored for years of service

Monday, December 5, 2016

FREDERICK, Md.—Hood College recently honored 43 employees for a total of 420 combined years of service.

Kerry Strand, the Andrew G. Truxal Professor of Sociology, was recognized for 40 years of service. Ann Boyd, professor of biology, and Kathy Falkenstein, associate professor of biology and chair of the Department of Biology, were each recognized for 35 years of service.

Several Hood College alumni were recognized as well: David Gurzick, M.S.’03, 10 years; Judy Sherman, M.A.’78, 10 years; Jane Super, MBA’13, 10 years; Tanya Williams, M.S.’07, 10 years; Jill Hermes ’87, M.A.’16, five years; Mayme Kugler, MBA’15, five years; John Mehl, M.A.’88, five years; Soofia Mujeeb ’11, M.S.’15, C’15, five years; and Ashley Nick Wilson ’08, C’14, five years.

Other employees who were recognized for 15 years were: Karen Hoffman, professor of philosophy and chair of the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies; Sang Kim, associate professor of economics and management and chair of the Department of Economics and Business Administration; Joyce Michaud, professor of art and director of the Master of Fine Arts and graduate certificate in ceramics programs; Scott Pincikowski, professor of German; and Hans Wagner, manager for the Department of Biology.

Employees recognized for 10 years of service were: Aijuan Dong, associate professor of computer science and information technology; Kerri Eyler, administrative assistant for the Departments of Psychology and Counseling, English and Communication Arts, Mathematics and Computer Science and Information Technology; Delores Grigsby, director of counseling; Julie McNeill, administrative assistant for athletics; Linda Roth, senior director of annual giving and alumni relations; Ahmed Salem, associate professor of computer science and information technology; Jolene Sanders, associate professor of sociology; and Denise Watkins, assistant controller.

Employees recognized for five years of service were: Shawney Anderson, accounting; Terry Burdette, head softball coach; Travis Eichelberger, assistant director of student engagement and coordinator of diversity and inclusion; Donna Harrison, writing skills coordinator; Elizabeth MacDougall, associate professor of psychology; Christine Malone, assistant director of residence life; Heather Mitchell-Buck, assistant professor of English; Diane Oliver, assistant professor of psychology; Janie O’Neal, instructor in English; Eric Peterson, campus safety officer; Tim Pollak, director of budget and treasury services; Jeffrey Rossio, associate professor of biology; Ann Sheehan, administrative assistant for the Departments of Education, Art and Archaeology and Philosophy and Religious Studies; Roger Stenersen, visiting instructor in education and director of the educational leadership program; Tricia Strickland, assistant professor of education; DeDe Trapp, staff nurse; Glen Weaver, assistant professor of accounting and management, who resigned July 31, 2016; and Gwyneth Whieldon, assistant professor of mathematics.