Home  |  Academics
  |  Department of Chemistry and Physics
Bookmark and Share

Department of Chemistry and Physics

The American Institute of Chemists Foundation Awardis presented to a student or students majoring in biochemistry or chemistry for outstanding scholastic achievement and ability. The recipient of this award is Alex Burns.

Alex is a senior majoring in biochemistry. Alex graduated from Fairfax High School in Fairfax, Va., and enrolled at Hood in August 2012. She is a work study student in the biology department. She is the treasurer of the Free Radicals Chemistry Club and is also a member of the Gamma Sigma Epsilon Chemistry Honor Society. Her plans after graduation include continuing research that she started during an internship at the United States Department of Agriculture at Ft. Detrick.

The Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society presents an award to an outstanding upper-level student in chemistry at each of the participating colleges in the state. The prizes were awarded at a banquet and ceremony held recently in Towson, Md. This year’s recipient is Ryan Franklin.

Ryan is a senior majoring in chemistry from New Market, Md. He took chemistry courses at Hood during his senior year of high school as a Hood Start student and then enrolled at Hood after graduating high school. Ryan completed a summer internship as part of the competitive SURF program at NIST and has continued his research there as an intern. His plans after graduation are to attend graduate school.

The Elizabeth B. Bower Prize, honoring the late Elizabeth B. Bower, is awarded annually to an outstanding student in chemistry. The prize was established in 1956 by the late Rebecca Ann Eversole Parker ’55, who was inspired by Professor Bower to make chemistry her career. At the time of her death, Rebecca was studying for her doctorate in chemistry at Oxford University. In 1962, the Eversole family endowed the prize as a memorial to Rebecca. Alex Jarnot is this year’s recipient.

Alex is a junior majoring in chemistry from Prince Frederick, Md. Alex is the president of the Clay Club—Hood’s ceramic club—and is also a member of the Free Radicals Chemistry Club. Last summer Alex worked on campus doing research funded by the National Science Foundation. In the summer of 2016, he will be participating in NASA’s Student Airborne Research Program (SARP) conducting experiments in DC-8 or P-3B airborne science laboratories.

The Chemistry Achievement Award is presented by the CRC Press to the highest-ranking first-year student in chemistry 101-102 during the current academic year. The award goes to Ashley Toy.

Ashley is a first-year student from Adamstown, Md. She graduated last June from Tuscarora High School and enrolled at Hood last August. She is a member of the Honors Program and the women’s soccer team.

The George G. Kleinspehn Honor Scholarship is named in honor of Whitaker Professor Emeritus George G. Kleinspehn and is awarded to a student whose record in two semesters of organic chemistry at Hood College is outstanding. Professor Kleinspehn taught at Hood from 1967 to 1993. Prior to coming to Hood, Professor Kleinspehn had research experience on the Manhattan Project in Oak Ridge, Tenn., at the Johns Hopkins University and at the U.S. Army Ballistics Research Laboratories in Aberdeen, Md. Timothy Diethrich is this year’s winner.

Timothy is a junior from Point of Rocks, Md., majoring in chemistry and is also a member of the Honors Program. He spent two years at Frederick Community College before transferring to Hood in August 2015. Timothy plans to continue research this summer at Ft. Detrick in the protein engineering section of the macromolecular crystallography lab.

The Elizabeth Leiby Wood Prize is awarded to a member of the rising senior class who is an overall outstanding student and has accomplished superior work in chemistry or biochemistry. The prize was established in 1944 by Scott S. Leiby in honor of his daughter, Elizabeth, Class of 1938. The prize is awarded to Reem Zietoon.

Reem is a junior majoring in biochemistry. She is from Germantown, Md., and enrolled at Hood in August 2013 after graduating from Clarksburg High School. Reem plans to work this summer as part of the Hood College Summer Research Institute expressing, purifying and analyzing zinc-finger proteins important in the host-virus interaction. Reem is considering graduate school after college; she wishes to ultimately pursue a career in cancer-related research.

The Vesta Hoffman Osler  ’30 Chemistry Award  was established in 2011 by Vesta Osler Mershon and Estelle Osler Hess in memory of their mother, Vesta Hoffman Osler ’30. The award is presented to the highest-ranking junior chemistry major. The award recipient is Angela Mansfield.

Angela is a junior with a dual major in chemistry and mathematics. She is an avid equestrian and a member of the women’s cross country team. In the summer of 2016, she will be continuing research from last summer as part of a National Science Foundation Improving Undergraduate STEM Education grant with professors Christopher Stromberg, Ph.D., and Kevin Bennett, Ph.D.