Close
Please Wait. Loading Menu...

Media Relations

The office of Marketing and Communications offers a variety of services for members of the media.

Expert's List: Categories for Media Relations

Many members of the Hood College faculty and staff are willing to speak to various civic groups or organizations and to members of the news media. Listed below, by general categories, are the available participants, their phone numbers and Email addresses; feel free to contact them directly or call the Office of Marketing and Communications at Hood College at 301-696-3800 for assistance.

·  African American Studies  

·  Aging  

·  Archaeology  

·  Art  

·  Business/Economics  

·  Business Ethics  

·  Computer Science  

·  Death and Dying  

·  Education  

·  Environment  

·  Film  

·  History  

·  Mathematics  

·  Medieval Times

·  Motherhood  

·  Music  

·  Politics  

·  Psychology  

·  Racism  

·  Religion  

·  Robotics  

·  Social Security  

·  Volunteerism  

·  Writing  

·  Women

 

African American Studies
Hoda Zaki, Professor of Political Science and Director of the African American Studies Program
301-696-3697
Email: hzaki@hood.edu

Archaeology
Jennifer Ross, Associate Professor of Art and Chair of the Department of Art and Archaeology
301-696-3777
Email: ross@hood.edu

Art
Joyce Michaud, Associate Professor of Art and Director of the M.F.A. and Graduate Certificate in Ceramic Arts programs
301-696-3526
Email: jmichaud@hood.edu  

Marshall Dupuie, Instructor of Photography
301-663-8257
Email: dupuie@hood.edu

Business and Economics
Joseph Dahms, Beneficial Associate Professor of Economics and Management
301-696-3687
Email: dahms@hood.edu

Sang Kim, Associate Professor of Economics and Management (stocks, international economies and Caribbean economy)
301-696-3693
Email: kim@hood.edu

Steve Pilloff, Associate Professor of Management
301-696-3688
Email: pilloff@hood.edu  

Business Ethics
Anita Jose, Associate Professor of Management; Chair of the Department of Economics and Management, Director of the M.B.A. program
301-696-3691
Email: ajose@hood.edu  

Computer Science
George Dimitoglou, Assistant Professor of Computer Science
301-696-3980
Email: dimitoglou@hood.edu

William Pierce, Assistant Professor of Computer Science
301-696-3983
Email: pierce@hood.edu   

Terry Martin, Associate Professor of Psychology and Thanatology , Program Director for Thanatology Program
301-696-3759
Email: tmartin@hood.edu  

Education
Kathleen Bands, Professor of Education and Vice President for Undergraduate and Graduate Enrollment Management (women in leadership)
301-696-3600
Email: bands@hood.edu

John George, Associate Professor of Education, Chair of the Department: Secondary Math and Science Education
301-696-3461
Email: georgej@hood.edu

Ellen Koitz, Associate Professor of Education; Director of the Graduate Reading Specialization Program; Director, Graduate Struggling Reader Program (children's education, reading and writing)
301-696-3466
Email: koitz@hood.edu  

Kelly Ross Kantz, Assistant Professor of Education (preschool, early childhood development, outdoor learning environments)
301-696-3838
Email: kantz@hood.edu

Environment
Drew Ferrier, Professor of Biology (Chesapeake Bay, Monocacy watershed) and Director of the Graduate Environmental Biology Program
301-696-3660
Email:dferrier@hood.edu

Film
Genevieve Gessert, Assistant Professor of Art (films about ancient times)
301-696-3485
Email:gessert@hood.edu  

Health
Melanie Adams, Coordinator of Sports Medicine (Exercise, sports injuries, or general health topics)
301-696-3836
Email:adams@hood.edu  

History
Len Latkovski, Professor of History and Chair of the Department of History and Political Science (U.S., Russia, Baltics)
301-696-3722
Email: latkovski@hood.edu

Rusty Monhollon, Associate Professor of History and Director of the Graduate Master of Arts in Humanities Program (Brown vs. BOE)
301-696-3690
Email: monhollon@hood.edu

Jennifer Ross, Associate Professor of Art and Chair of the Department of Art and Archaeology (ancient history, archaeology)
301-696-3777
Email: ross@hood.edu  

Mathematics
Betty Mayfield, Professor of Mathematics and Chair of the Department
301-696-3736
Email: mayfield@hood.edu  

Medieval Times
Emilie Amt, Hildegarde Pilgram Professor of History
301-696-3696
Email: eamt@hood.edu  

Motherhood
Lisa Algazi, Professor of French
301-696-3476
Email: lalgazi@hood.edu  

Music
Noel Lester, Professor of Music and Concert Pianist (classical, ragtime)
301-696-3429
Email: nlester@hood.edu  

Politics
Len Latkovski, Professor of History and Chair of the Department of History and Political Science
301-696-3722
Email: latkovski@hood.edu  

Psychology
Ingrid Farreras, Associate Professor of Psychology (mind control, National Institute of Mental Health, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke)
301-696-3762
Email: farreras@hood.edu  

Racism
Hoda Zaki, Professor of Political Science and Director of the African American Studies Program
301-696-3697
Email: hzaki@hood.edu  

Religion
David Hein, Professor of Religion and Philosophy
301-696-3435
Email: hein@hood.edu  

Robotics
George Dimitoglou, Assistant Professor of Computer Science
301-696-3980
Email: dimitoglou@hood.edu  

Sang Kim, Associate Professor of Economics and Management (economics aspect)
301-696-3693
Email: kim@hood.edu  

Volunteerism
Bonnie Hagerman, Executive Director of Academic and Career Services and founder of Care Wear Volunteers, a national group that provides handmade baby items to hospitals
301-696-3550
Email: hagerman@hood.edu  

Writing
Roser Caminals-Heath, Professor of Spanish (creative process of writing a novel)
301-696-3474
Email: rheath@hood.edu

Carol Kolmerten, Professor of English (biography and memoirs)
301-696-3742
Email: kolmerten@hood.edu  

Women
Kathleen Bands, Professor of Education and Vice President for Undergraduate and Graduate Enrollment Management (women in leadership)
301-696-3600
Email: bands@hood.edu

Return to top of page